RSS

100 word challenge

29 Jan

This is my entry for the 100 word challenge at Julia’s Place. I originally wasn’t sure if poetry was allowed, but she sent me an email assuring me it was.

The prompt was “You bought her what…”  There was purposely no punctuation so as to leave some freedom of interpretation.

________

Y0u bought her what she couldn’t buy;

sweets and candies, true delights,

a four-post bed with sheets so white,

a pony that she’d love to ride,

a gown to dance in through the night,

a house upon the riverside,

a swimming pool with a bright blue slide,

a beach to stroll and watch the tide,

a forest where the faeries hide,

and in their secret vales reside,

a magic palace in the sky,

fantastical on clouds up high.

You bought her things to satisfy,

Or so you tried to justify,

But all that really qualified

was a friend in whom she could confide.

________

I’m going to have to continue doing these.  This was fun!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in Authors, Blogs, Contests, Poetry, Prompts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “100 word challenge

  1. eric swett

    January 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Very nicely done.

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 10:37 pm

      Thanks Eric, I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

       
  2. Lorely Forrester

    January 31, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    Love it! Well done and welcome. Hope to see more.
    Wordpress doesn’t like me leaving comments, so will probably have to do this via facebook!
    Writing from the Edge
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 10:41 pm

      Looks like the comment made it just fine Lorely. Thanks for the affirmation on the post!

       
  3. Writing from the Edge

    January 31, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    Love it! Well done and welcome! Hope to see more!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 1:04 am

      Thanks Lorely, I enjoy the writing of it. You keep coming by and you shall see plenty of it. 🙂

       
  4. alltimescout

    January 31, 2012 at 6:35 am

    Nice poem 🙂

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Thank you alltimescout, I do what I’m able. 🙂

       
  5. annahalford (@anhalf)

    January 30, 2012 at 1:53 am

    I liked this; the poem worked well and had a good rhythm to it. Nice approach

     
  6. Raven Marlow

    January 29, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    This is very cute. I love it!

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 29, 2012 at 4:28 pm

      Thanks Raven! I’m glad you think so. I noticed some of the other entries went the same direction, but they weren’t poems. It was fun anyway.

       
  7. Lisa Wields Words

    January 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Lovely poem. Great contribution to the challenge.

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I really enjoyed writing it and trying to keep the words to 100+ the prompt. Good exercise.

       
 
