RSS

Wednesday

30 Jan

This is my entry for the 100WCGU challenge Week #29
I also want to mention that I think this is patterned after 100wc.net, which is for children 16 and under.  They really need us adult writers to go comment on their entries each week. So if you have the time, please make a visit to that site a regular part of your routine. Thanks!

Here it is:

A Wednesday morning it was, that I was born
and I learned what life was about.
Ripped from my shelter, where I’d been so warm,
to a slap on the rump I cried “Ouch!”
There were pleasant times, yes, like a warm suckled meal
or a silky dry bottom for my nap,
But the general theme was to cry with full zeal
Until mother thought that I was a brat.
Growing was fun because then I could walk
And grab things I before couldn’t reach.
I can now use my mouth to repeat all the things
she never would knowingly teach.

 
36 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2012 in Authors, Blogs, Challenges, Poetry, Prompts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

36 responses to “Wednesday

  1. gsussex

    February 5, 2012 at 7:09 am

    I like the angle/take of this piece and well done with the rhyme!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 5, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      Thanks G. I’ve been writing serious poetry for the past 25 years, but every time I write it’s like the first time. I get very excited about each piece.

       
  2. Gilly Gee

    February 2, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Wonderful and very funny!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Thanks Gilly,
      I try! I don’t see the point in writing something that will just bring me down when I reread it. Sad songs were never my favorite songs, either…
      Thanks for the visit. Hope to see you back again soon.

       
  3. Lorely Forrester

    February 2, 2012 at 11:12 am

    That’s very funny, and I love the ending! So true! You can GUARANTEE they will come out with the one thing you’d rather had gone in one ear and out the other side…

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      Thanks Lorely,
      I love my kids but they have embarrassed me more than once that way. I try to write about universal truths, even in my poetry. I find that just like with stand-up comedy, the truth contained in what is being said, reaches the hearts of your audience.
      I need to go back and see all the other entries for this week’s 100 Word Challenge. (I only saw the first four since mine was number five.) I hope to see yours there.

       
  4. buddhafulkat

    February 2, 2012 at 11:00 am

    A fun rhyme! =)

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 12:24 pm

      Thanks for the comment Buddha. I just visited your website and, not realizing you had left a comment, invited you to do so anytime. Seems the invitation wasn’t necessary, but it was sincere. I love hearing everyone’s opinions on my posts. Thanks for your interest in the blog.
      I also liked your entry for the 100 Word Challenge this week. It was very well thought out and well written.

       
  5. Lisa Wields Words

    February 1, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Giggle! So true.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Lisa,
      Thanks for your visit to my blog. I’m glad you got a laugh out of the poem. If you’ve read my first published short story, you may have noticed on the dedication page, that my wife still laughs at me too. One of my favorite things in life is making people laugh. Thanks for being a part of the blog. I hope you’ll continue to be.

       
  6. Angeline M

    February 1, 2012 at 8:10 am

    That’s why I love our eight year old grandson…..he tells us everything 🙂

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Ha ha Angeline!
      I imagine it’s almost like having your own little clandestine operative. Aren’t kids great?
      Thanks for stopping by the blog. Please visit again!

       
  7. cjspalace

    February 1, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Really liked this poem, made me laugh and the last two lines are all too familiar!! oops!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Hi Claire,
      I’m glad you enjoyed it. One of the functions of children in their early years to teach us about our own tendency to say things in “privacy” that we wouldn’t say in public.
      I hope you’ll continue to comment on my blog. Thanks for the visit.

       
  8. Judee

    February 1, 2012 at 5:03 am

    Fun post. I like the lymerick style and rythm. Love the last lines. 🙂

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 11:16 am

      It was fun to write. I could have continued to write about 5 pages more, but the limit was 100 words.
      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll be a regular participant in the blog. Feel free to browse the posts and comment on anything else that strikes your fancy.

       
  9. rogerdengle

    January 31, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Hi North. Thanks for stopping by anyway.

     
  10. Him Up North

    January 31, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Duh… logged in under wrong account. LOL

     
  11. Garry (Team 100WC)

    January 31, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Superb imagery: “Ripped from my shelter, where I’d been so warm,” is a great line. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

      Garry, Glad you like the poem. thanks for stopping by the blog! I hope you’ll be back.

       
  12. Sally-Jayne

    January 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    I loved this one. It’s got such a different feel to it from the other entries this week. I definitely understood the last two lines. I’m not a mum, but as a primary school teacher I sometimes find it hard to look parents in the eye because their little angels have told me facts about their lives I’m sure they wouldn’t want me to know!

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Sally Jane, thanks for the visit! I hope you’ll stop by again in the future. Your comment has me rolling. (As in, on the floor laughing…) I hate to think what my kids’ elementary school teachers must have thought of us. I’m glad you enjoyed the poem. I’m hoping there’s a challenge for a 188 word piece on flowers, because I have a great one for that! Hahaha!

       
  13. Midlife Singlemum

    January 31, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I have a 3yo and I’m learning to keep my mouth shut. Lovely poem 🙂

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Ah, children! The great promoters of self-censorship. Thanks for stopping by Singlemum. I appreciate your approval of the piece. 🙂

       
  14. rogerdengle

    January 31, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Not at all TLS, I enjoyed your blog. The poem (lyrics) you featured is enigmatic, and I love a good mystery. You can count on me visiting your blog more often. I hope you’ll be by here in the future as well.

     
    • TLS

      January 31, 2012 at 10:19 am

      Thank you very much, and I certainly will!

       
  15. ryan85

    January 31, 2012 at 6:06 am

    Nicely written; I wasn’t expecting poetry. As a father of four sons (all under 8) I can attest to their almost villainous ability to “repeat all things.” What kind of missionary are you?

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Yes ryan85, they are most villainous in that regard. Most parents will agree that, though their children are such a gift from God, causing growth in the parents in areas previously never even recognized, much less considered, they do have a propensity for putting us into our absolute worst light at times. I thank God for my children and hope they feel the same about me. Thanks for your comment. I hope you’ll be back to visit from time to time.

       
      • ryan85

        February 1, 2012 at 6:28 am

        Glad to participate, and I’m already visiting again. You mentioned being a missionary in Honduras – what kind of missionary are you?

         
      • rogerdengle

        February 1, 2012 at 11:14 am

        In short? The laid back kind. My wife and I helped to found a children’s home for malnourished and handicapped children. It’s more humanitarian work than preaching the gospel, but we do some of both. Thanks for your participation in the blog.

         
  16. jfb57

    January 31, 2012 at 2:40 am

    Hello there! I love this rhyme as it contains quite a life time of events. I understood the last lines but maybe that’s because I’m a mum!

    Many thanks for putting a link to the children’s challenge & the ideas …. from this old head I’m afraid!

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Thanks for your comment, jfb57. I am only a “second-weeker” in the 100WCGU, but I already love it. I’m not sure why I chose to do lyrical verse instead of prose, but it probably tells something about my personality. (romantic, fantasy prone, melancholy, what have you…)
      You will probably be seeing much more of me on the weekly challenges. It’s a welcome respite from my work on our unfinished house, my publishing and writing, my blog, homeschooling my children and my online courses.
      I may be a little busy this week because I’m preparing my second publication for the series Misadventures in La Mosquitia to follow The Lost Flip Flop http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0071I3JN4 that I released a couple weeks ago.

       
  17. TLS

    January 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Could you explain the last two lines?

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 30, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      Sure! I’ll explain those last two lines. I was worried some people might not understand them, but the 101 word limit was making it tough to be any clearer.

      Before I explain, allow me to thank you for your visit to my blog.

      Now I’ll explain. I have children, and one of the first things I learned from raising them, once they got to the age that they could talk, was not to say ANYTHING that I didn’t want to hear them saying, over and over and over. The first experience I had of this nature was a little girl whose mother and I were living together. She was about a month pregnant when we met and I became her best friend and the surrogate father of the child. She, (the mother), had a bit of a foul mouth and so Destiney, the little girl, quickly learned to say the word “BITCH!” with the same vocal inflections and everything. My children, after I eventually broke up with that dear woman and married another woman to whom I am still faithfully and happily married, were never given the opportunity to learn such words at such an early age, but they still repeated things we wished we had not said within their hearing range. Children are notorious for telling the truth when it’s least convenient, such as telling the neighbor lady what a hag we really think she is. It keeps hypocrisy to a minimum, though. So it’s not all that bad.

       
      • TLS

        January 31, 2012 at 9:10 am

        Yes, I certainly got that gist from the poem – how you can now say the words that your mother would ideally never want you to know, and would never have meant for you to hear. I think that’s a wonderful desicion for you to have made for your children.
        I read in a book recently (I’m about to go to uni to study primary teaching), that kids are like sponges. And that’s so true, they can pick up on the smallest detail, and as you said, repeat it.
        Thanks for explaining, and thank you for taking some time out to visit my blog too. 🙂

         
  18. TLS

    January 30, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    I love this – you have a wonderful way with words. 🙂

     
 
