RSS

How Do You Not Respond to Comments?

31 Jan

I like this article. I try to respond to every comment that comes in here. It’s nice to receive your feedback. If I comment on someone else’s blog, I expect them to do the same. What do you think? If you like this article you should stop by the AIS Journal and comment there too. I’m just sayin’…:)

AIS Journal

When celebrities do this, they have a reason. When an ordinary blogger does this, it’s just not right.

This totally drives me crazy. I know and I admit that different people have different reasons to blog. But most of the bloggers out there, who post publicly and leave the comment form open, have a common goal of being read and commented on. It really feels good when you receive comments from your blog. When you get to know that someone spent time on your blog reading about your ramblings which would do no good to them, and then cared enough to leave a comment and even follow your blog for future posts, it must feel good. But then, you don’t respond to his comments. I mean, how cruel is that?

Imagine yourself being in the middle of a crowd where no one really knows anyone. You feel lonely, you’re talking…

View original post 144 more words

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Authors, Blogs, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “How Do You Not Respond to Comments?

  1. Betty R.

    February 2, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    BTW when someone comments on my blog I try to comment back to them because I think it IS the courteous thing to do and I am thankful that the person took the time to read my most likely long blog/rant/view.

    For a minute there I went on a different comment issue on my previous post to you, sorry about that.

    So… are you going to respond to this message? It would be the nice thing to do. HA!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 4:07 pm

      I will definitely respond to the lovely Betty. I wouldn’t want to be banned from YOUR blog, after all, nor would I want you to stop commenting on mine. In all seriousness, I try to respond to every comment, but I haven’t had any negative comments yet, (touches wood), so I really don’t know what I will do in the face of negativity. I hope I don’t have to find out any time soon.
      What do you mean about a different comment issue? Was it interesting? Post the link here. Maybe we should all go see it too.
      Thanks for the visit Betty. I need to drop by ad see your most recent posts. See you there.

       
      • Betty R.

        February 3, 2012 at 12:01 am

        Thank you for responding. I meant that I went off on a different subject here by mistake because this whole “comment” blog made me think of what happened recently. I had someone comment (which I didn’t approve) telling me that if I liked what she posted I should have also commented as a like meant nothing to her. WOW!

         
      • rogerdengle

        February 3, 2012 at 2:43 pm

        Oh! I see, Betty! Well, I guess to each his own. It’s acceptable, in my opinion, to simply “Like”a post if you have nothing pertinent to say in a comment. Thanks for clearing that up for us. We appreciate you participating in the blog, Betty. Please keep coming back! 🙂

         
  2. Betty R.

    February 2, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    I totally agree. I hit the like button when I find something interesting, insightful or it just touches me. Sometimes I really just have no comment for it though. I still want the blogger to know their blog has been read and appreciated. So… do you find that a “like” is still almost as good as a compliment? 🙂

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 3:52 pm

      Hi again Betty!
      I DO use the like button to let people know that I appreciate their post without having a comment. It’s not as good as a comment, but it lets them know you were there and appreciated it. At the same time, some prefer you leave a “Like” instead of a comment for the very reason that we are discussing here. If someone leaves a comment, responding to it is the courteous thing to do. I also agree with the author of the article in that, if you don’t wish to respond to comments, leave the comments area closed.

       
  3. marinabenjamin

    February 2, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Hi Roger,

    Like you I’m new to blogging and much to my surprise (having made a reluctant start) I now love it. I agree that it is common courtesy to comment or at least look in and ‘like’ the blogs of people who’ve taken the trouble to comment on your pages. Blogging after all, is a form of social media and WordPress is a kind of virtual community of people who have something to say.
    Good luck with your blog. I like it.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 2, 2012 at 10:23 am

      Yes Marina,
      Blogging is another form of Social Media. I wouldn’t be surprised if Facebook buys WordPress and incorporates blogging into the Facebook experience. I’m glad you stopped by my blog and I hope to see you again.

       
  4. Pete Denton

    February 1, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    It is a common courtesy I agree. It is certainly something I try and always make sure I do. Treat others and you want to be treated yourself

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 3:22 pm

      Hear! Hear! Thanks for the comment Pete! The Golden Rule…Do unto others. Good input!
      Welcome back to the blog today. I’m glad I found something to keep your interest.

       
  5. George Angus (@GeorgeAngus)

    February 1, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Hey Roger,

    I try to respond to every comment. I figure if they have taken the time to visit and comment, I owe them that much at least. Sometimes it takes a while for me to respond to all of them, but eventually I get it done.

    If I go to a blog and the owner never replies to any of the comments, I’m likely to stop going there.

    George

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 1, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Me too George. I figure if they don’t respond they don’t need my traffic that badly.

       
  6. Sajib

    January 31, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for reblogging the piece. I was disappointed by a couple of bloggers who weren’t responding to my comments on couple of their latest posts. So, it triggered me to write this up.

     
    • rogerdengle

      January 31, 2012 at 11:58 pm

      I understand completely Sajib. Thanks again for stopping by and for writing your piece so I could re-blog it. 🙂

       
      • Sajib

        February 1, 2012 at 12:18 am

        You’re welcome.

         
 
