RSS

My Blogroll

09 Feb

WordPressOkay I have several questions and several observations.  First of all, how come my Blogroll looks so lame?   It doesn’t have any of the people who regularly comment here listed.  I added them, but they don’t show up.  Secondly, Why is it only allowed to be at the bottom of the page?  I see other people with theirs on the sidebar, but WordPress tells me the sidebar has been discontinued?  What’s that all about?  There’s a lot of space on both sides of my posts.  It’s begging for widgets and I’m somehow not allowed to have any sidebars.  Is it just the theme I’m using?  Do you have to host your own website to be able to use sidebars, like apps?

I think the people who comment on my posts are the coolest of all my followers.  I’m glad everyone that follows my blog thought enough of it to follow it, but hey!  Let’s face it.  Unless you comment how am I really going to get to know you?

Okay, I’ve said my piece.  Someone else can have the soapbox now…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2012 in Blog Management, Editing, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “My Blogroll

  1. Pete Denton

    February 10, 2012 at 1:27 am

    I had some problems with my theme not doing things you think they would all do. You can check out the sample of each theme before you select the one you want.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 10, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thanks Pete, I changed the theme last night and it appears to have a sidebar. If the blogroll won’t go on the sidebar I have a few more I want to try. I appreciate your help.

       
  2. Him Up North

    February 9, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    The theme you use (Wu Wei) doesn’t allow sidebars. If you want sidebars you’ll have to change your theme. As for the blogroll, I add to mine by adding links in the dashboard area and ensuring the blogroll box is ticked for each one.

    Hope this helps.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 9, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      Thanks North! I knew it had to be some simple stuff like that. I had a sneaking suspicion the theme was at fault. How do I check the theme to see if it has a sidebar?

       
  3. Gilly Gee

    February 9, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    I think it depends on which theme you have chosen? Mine is twentyten and I like most of its features but some times I feel it doesn’t look very professional 😦

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 9, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      Okay Gilly. I suspected as much. I need to figure out how to see if the theme has a sidebar or not.

       
 
