RSS
Image

Week #30 of Julia’s 100 Word challenge For Grown Ups

10 Feb

100wcgu-7

This week’s prompt is “…it wasn’t my fault…”

The challenge is to complete your entry with 100 words or less, creating a story or verbal image that captures the imagination.  You can enter your own entry at Julia’s 100 Word Challenge For Grownups.

Also, be sure to visit the 100 Word Challenge for schools, where the idea originated.

This is still following my Valentine’s Day theme, albeit in a twisted sort of way.  Enjoy!

Confession

“It wasn’t my fault” she said.

“Who said anything about it being your fault?” said the detective with a sidelong look to his partner.

“He was my boyfriend.”

“Really?  For how long?” said the second detective.

“Almost a year.”

“Was he seeing anyone else?” said the first detective.

“Yes, but he didn’t care about her.  If he had just listened to me none of this would have happened”

“What would you have told him?”

“What does it matter now?”

“What indeed?”

“Should I call a lawyer?”

“We said you were entitled to one.”

“Maybe I should… It wasn’t my fault”

 

Tags: , , , , ,

30 responses to “Week #30 of Julia’s 100 Word challenge For Grown Ups

  1. ifiwerebraveblog

    February 14, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Great dialogue.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 14, 2012 at 10:37 am

      Thank you brave! It was fun writing it.

       
  2. Lisa Wields Words

    February 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Methinks she doth protest too much. 😉

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 13, 2012 at 10:24 pm

      Yes Lisa, she does. Thanks for your comment and your visit. I noticed you’re now following this blog. Thank you for your moral support, as well.

       
  3. Lorely Forrester

    February 13, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I really enjoyed reading this piece. I think this could well go the way of ‘Autumn’ – a week by week saga! We’ll be tuning in for the next episode!

    Writing from the Edge

    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2012/02/it-wasnt-my-fault-2.html

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 13, 2012 at 11:36 pm

      I don’t know, Lorely, maybe it could. It’s definitely something to consider. Thanks for the comment and visit. I hope I see you around more often.

       
  4. cjspalace

    February 13, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Like the others I go from being on her side to thinking she’s guilty of something, though not sure what! Very cleverly done.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

      Thank you Claire! I think I said somewhere here in the comments that before I wrote it I was going with the idea that she was truly innocent, but then as I began to write I decided to leave that for the reader to wonder about. I appreciate your visit and hope to see you here more often.

       
  5. Deirdre Thackray (@heraldicangel)

    February 13, 2012 at 5:45 am

    I love this use of that all too-common refrain – ‘it wasn’t my fault’! She protesteth just a bit too much methinks! Terrific journey in a 100 words.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 13, 2012 at 7:57 am

      Thank you Deirdre. I’m glad you enjoyed the little dialogue. I was torn between a dialogue and a poem I also had in mind. I decided on this, as you can see, and apparently it went well. I appreciate your visit and hope to see you again sometime soon.

       
  6. GoofyJ

    February 12, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    Well written dialogue – nicely done!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      Thanks J. I’ve been meaning to try more dialogue for a while now. You can never get enough practice. Thanks for the feedback. Hope you’ll visit again.

       
  7. IsobelandCat

    February 12, 2012 at 11:19 am

    I like the way you have written this as a dialogue.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks Bel! I appreciate the feedback. I hope you visit again soon.

       
  8. Mike

    February 12, 2012 at 7:32 am

    I enjoyed this.
    I moved from thinking she was maybe being badgered by the police to thinking she might have something to hide.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      Thanks Mike. I was thinking maybe she was really innocent when I first opened the word processor to start writing, but by the time I wrote the first line I had decided to make it a mystery…I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for dropping by. Hope to see you again soon.

       
  9. Judee

    February 12, 2012 at 4:58 am

    Ah, you make me wonder so much of what exactly happened. And was it or wasn’t it her fault? Subtle clues, very effective.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 10:50 pm

      Thanks Judee! I was afraid it might be too subtle or give too much away. It was fun balancing between the two. Thanks for your visit. I hope to see you here again.

       
  10. Raven Marlow

    February 12, 2012 at 12:26 am

    UGH! Must give MORE!! I totally want to know everything now!! This would be a great hook for a longer story hon. Bravo!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Raven! You’re back! Thanks for the visit. I know it would be but I don’t know if I would be capable of writing a mystery very well. We’ll see.

       
      • Raven Marlow

        February 17, 2012 at 11:33 am

        Oh I totally understand that! There are so many intricacies to a mystery or whodunnit novel. It takes one hell of an author to really pull it off.

         
      • rogerdengle

        February 18, 2012 at 9:21 pm

        I’ll probably try writing a short story mystery, like the old Danny Dunn or Encyclopedia Brown stories sooner or later, but at this juncture I’m trying to decide which novel to work on first. I have ideas for three and I’m not sure which to start on first. I also have been neglecting the blog this past week due to some family coming to visit in a month and lots of stuff needing to be done on the house we’re finishing while we’re living in it. So I guess the mystery right now is when and what am I going to write… 🙂

         
  11. Jonesingafter40

    February 11, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Oooooh… a detective scene. It takes so few words to implicate yourself, doesn’t it? Really enjoyed it!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 12, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      Jonesing, I thought I already approved and replied to your post, but apparently it didn’t “take”. Thanks for visiting my ol’ blog. (It’s really not all that old.) I hope you’ll be back often. I agree that a person can quickly and easily implicate themselves with very few words. That’s why my dear mother always told me to keep my trap shut if I wasn’t sure what to say. Not that I learned that lesson well. 🙂

       
  12. buddhafulkat

    February 11, 2012 at 10:28 am

    This does leave the reader suspecting her guilt, but there is still some mystery. I can’t help wanting to know the circumstances around the event, what the event is and what the outcome will be. Well done.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 11, 2012 at 11:01 am

      Ah…thanks Kat! It’s always a pleasure to hear I accomplished my intentions in a piece I wrote. I wanted to try a dialogue piece and I think everyone likes a little bit of mystery.

       
  13. Sparks In Shadow

    February 11, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I think she should, too. I like your subtlety (I love a little mystery!) and how this feels so whole with just 100 words.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 11, 2012 at 10:04 am

      Wow! Thanks for the compliment Sparks! Coming from you, after just having read your entry for week #30, it means a lot! I was hoping it wouldn’t be TOO subtle.

       
  14. sjbwriting

    February 11, 2012 at 3:53 am

    Clever how you take the reader from believing her innocent to believing her guilty in such a short dialogue.

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 11, 2012 at 7:57 am

      Thanks SJB, I also didn’t want to come right out and SAY she was guilty. I felt it went against the whole idea of the prompt. I’m glad it was noticeable.

       
 
