RSS

The Speck

12 Feb

There’s a speck behind my lcd.  I see it all the time.

I’m not sure how it got there but it’s in my address line.

I tried to wipe it off but found it’s underneath the screen

And yet I see it as clearly as if it were a part of the design.

 

I thought it was a comma once, or an apostrophe.

I even thought to change the colors of my desktop theme.

But no matter what I do to avoid seeing this little speck,

It always follows what I do.  It’s haunting me, it seems.

 

I wonder how it got there.  Is it dust from some unknown

Spring cleaning project of my wife’s, from off the mantle, blown?

Or did a bug that sought a source of warmth find himself stuck

and die there searching for an exit to the world he once had known?

 

I guess I’ll leave it in there as I’m no computer tech.

The cost of having it removed would make me bounce a check.

And yet I’m finding as I see the spot each brand new day,

That it’s becoming rather like a friend this unknown little speck.

 

So I’ll just keep on greeting it each morning with “Hello.”

I’ll cease to try and wipe it off.  I’ve wiped enough to know.

I’ll gladly share with my companion everything I write

And if its size increases then I guess I’ll watch it grow.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Inspiration, Poetry, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Speck

  1. Mike

    February 13, 2012 at 5:39 am

    Nice way to describe a dead pixel or pixel cluster on your LCD screen.
    Hopefully the speck won’t grow; If it does, only you will know

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 13, 2012 at 7:59 am

      Thanks Mike. Is that what you think it is? I honestly am not sure what it is. Since I’ve never seen a dead pixel before this I guess it could be one. It actually looks like it’s 1 or 2 mm behind the surface of the screen.

       
      • Mike

        February 13, 2012 at 10:07 am

        Yes Roger – Definitely a dead pixel or small cluster… The speck appearing one or two mm behind the screen front is about right – the active LCD panel is behind the front protective screen.
        These dead pixel specks are quite common with LCD displays – new screens occasionally have them as well – and can be a bit difficult to get replaced by some manufacturers’s agents.
        Manufacturers sometimes consider a very small ‘dead pixel’ rate within specification for a new screen (nearly all consumer screens have a few – usually not visible though).
        One of my displays has a dead spot – fortunately in the very top right hand corner – have to look for it to see it.

         
      • rogerdengle

        February 13, 2012 at 10:29 am

        Well, like yours, mine is at the top, near the end of the address field of my browser when it’s not on full-screen mode. I hope it won’t grow. (Nice rhyme of your own in that first comment. He he!) It’s just a little thing and could be mistaken for a piece of dust on the screen.
        Thanks again.

         
 
