RSS

Metaphosaurus project

18 Feb

I’m willing to follow along and take part in the Metaphosaurus project. How about you? I think this is actually a worthy idea for a new type of reference for writers of all types.

The Velociwritetor

I have had a personal love affair with thesauruses — yes, its an acceptable plural form of that word besides “thesauri,” which sounds weirder. It all started when my godfather gave me a scrabble set. Along with the set, he gave me a thesaurus. With the weird, dinosaur-sounding name, my curiosity got the better of me, so I took the hardbound book and read it. The cover said, “The perfect word for every occasion.” When I read the contents, it didn’t look like a real dictionary. It only contained synonyms and antonyms! “What a weird kind of dictionary,” I thought to myself. Thanks to it, though, my vocabulary expanded, and true enough, I was able to find the right words for the right occasions. As I grew up, I learned to write — not just note down ideas but really write — and I craved for something similar to a…

View original post 536 more words

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in Reblogs, Writer's Resources

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Metaphosaurus project

  1. Chad the Velociraptor

    February 20, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Yeah, that’s true. In this case, WordPress actually has this as an advantage over Blogger. The tags and categories are cross-referenced across all users of the platform, which I found really powerful. Hence, this WordPress-wide call for metaphors. Again, many thanks!

     
  2. Chad the Velociraptor

    February 19, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Roger,

    Thanks for reblogging. When I posted this a year back, nobody seemed to have taken notice, so I hope this really kicks off, especially since you’re helping! Thanks a lot!!!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 19, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Well, you see Chad, I love metaphoric expression. You managed to couch the need for something like this in a humorous blog post, but it is truly a need. I believe people could use this type of reference to improve their writing. I hope more people take interest in it.

       
      • Chad the Velociraptor

        February 20, 2012 at 10:20 am

        Thanks for pointing out the humor in my post. I was actually dead serious when I wrote (and rewrote) that blog post last year (and this year). Since Aug. 17 of last year, I haven’t giggled at the post, and now that I’ve read it again, I do see that it is funny. So, what is a metaphor for density and obliviousness? I’ll just say Chad. Hahaha!

        On a serious note, I really hope that this project takes flight. I see that it can and would help people find inspiration for poems and other forms of writing. With attention coming from you and other people who’ve liked the post, I’m starting to feel optimistic. 😀

         
      • rogerdengle

        February 20, 2012 at 10:27 am

        What I liked most about your post, other than the obvious utility of a Reference of Metaphors being a great help and inspiration for writers, was the organizational vision you had for actually creating reference tags within the WordPress infrastructure. That inspired me to go back through my old blog posts and clean up all the tags and categories for a better EOS print.

         
 
