RSS

My Blog is in the Doldrums

26 Feb

Doldrums ExperimentFor those of you who haven’t read much about maritime sailing, here’s the definition of doldrums from Wikipedia: “The doldrums is a colloquial expression derived from historical maritime usage for those parts of the Atlantic Ocean and the Pacific Ocean affected by the Inter-tropical Convergence Zone, a low-pressure area around the equator where the prevailing winds are calm.”  This typically meant, to sailors at sea during the age of sailing vessels, that the ship didn’t move much unless they towed it with rowers in boats out front.  Very exhausting work.

Well, I have been very busy lately with building projects and writing my novel and have basically neglected my blog.  I do apologize to those of you who look forward to hearing from me daily.  I’ll try to do a better job of keeping the blog current.  Lately it’s been too much like work and I hate rowing.

I had an idea this past week that I am hoping you will all respond to and maybe we can work together to get the momentum going again.  Here’s the idea.  Let’s make a list of all the different writing challenges and prompts we know of.  It doesn’t matter if it’s poetry or prose, short or long.  I’m interested in hearing about your favorite weekly or monthly writing challenges.  I like flash fiction and poetry, but feel free to stretch our imaginations.  If you know about a writing challenge, let’s hear about it here.  (10 extra points if it’s on a WordPress blog)

List

100WCGU is a 100 word challenge for grown ups based on the one for schools.  It is held weekly.  There is a text prompt of some type given.

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Challenges, Contests, Inspiration, Prompts, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “My Blog is in the Doldrums

  1. simonreadbooks

    February 27, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    The good news is you’re getting work done on your novel!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 27, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      Yes Simon! =D You are correct! I’ve been telling myself that, too. But I also know that if I’m going to build a good reader base for my writing I need to keep the blog flowing. It seems like a catch twenty-two situation, though. Keep the blog flowing and build a reader base *or* write something really worth their time and attention. Hahaha! Maybe I’m exaggerating a little, but sometimes drama feels good. Thanks for the comment and encouragement.

      Know of any good writing challenges, prompts or competitions to get my creative juices pumping?

       
  2. ellie mack

    February 27, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Roger, I did a presentation last year and included how they overcame the doldrums back in the prime of sailing ships. I’ve been wracking my brain to remember the term, but at the moment haven’t recalled. Now it’s bothering me. In essence they would send a small crew forward in the rowboat with an anchor on long rope. When they had reached the limit of their rope, they would drop the anchor and pull the largers ship forward. They would continue this tedious task until they reached a point where they could feel the currents again. I’ll think of the term – have been under the weather for past few days and not up to 100% yet.
    My point is, that’s what we have to do some times, pull ourselves along at a tedious pace until the wind fills our sails!

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      Hi Ellie! The term you’re looking for is warping, I believe. Thanks to Patrick O’Brien for that one. (He’s one of my favorite authors.) It is tedious. I’m warping along on my novel right now and also warping along on the blog. I mean to post something tonight but it’s getting late and I want it to be something meaningful. Hehehe… What a conundrum, huh?
      I should get to bed but I really need to make at least one blog post tonight. Sigh… Think! Think! Think! (In my very best impression of Winnie The Pooh) Thanks for the comment and the encouragement. I think that’s what my post will be about tonight. The Encouragement of Friends.

       
  3. Gilly Gee

    February 27, 2012 at 1:05 am

    I have been taking part in this one and like it because it makes me write some fiction without it being a huge effort!
    http://jfb57.wordpress.com/100-word-challenge-for-grown-ups/

     
    • rogerdengle

      February 27, 2012 at 6:52 am

      Ah yes Gilly,
      The 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups. Thanks!

       
 
