RSS

Daily Archives: February 29, 2012

One out of One Thousand Four Hundred Sixty One

Well, this is the one day out of the year we will not be able to see on our calendar again until one thousand four hundred sixty more days pass.  I couldn’t let it get by without attempting to write something significant.  I mean, why not?  Right?

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, as some of you already know, discouragement has reared its ugly head in my life.  I’ve been so busy with painting and construction work that it has been nearly impossible to do anything towards my WIP or my blog.  Thanks to a few of my friends who comment regularly here, I’ve had a better outlook about it for the past couple days.

I know I should schedule myself to write a little each day, but schedules are not my best friends.  I’m the guy who never sticks to a schedule and so I avoid making them.  I even made a daily routine “guideline” once and titled it exactly that, because I was asked to write a schedule.  It looked like a schedule and even had times on it, but it wasn’t one because I had titled it something else.  I still didn’t stick to it.

You see, to me writing is a passion thing.  It’s something I have to be in the mood to do or it ends up just being mediocre.  So, when I have a ton of other stuff to do and can’t just drop it all to go write when my fickle muses come to flirt, I don’t get much writing done.

What puts you in the doldrums?  What discourages you?  Is it external distractions of life or is it some dark psychological stimuli that gets to you once in a while?  Most importantly, what’s your muse?  What gets your creative juices flowing?   What makes you feel as though you could write for a week without stopping?

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in Difficulties, Inspiration

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

 
