RSS

Sedentary Revolutionary

11 Mar
English: Revolutionary parade, ink drawing by ...

Image via Wikipedia

I’m twisted inside at what’s happening here.

We gave in to the mob though their cause was unclear.

As they’d hoped, we averted our eyes and went on

keeping time to the sound of their merciless drum.

Now we’re over that cliff.  Who knew lemmings could fly?

Oh, they can’t?  I guess that’s why we’re so contrite.

We hit bottom and turned to each other in hope.

Then we realize we’d given them all of our rope

thinking they’d make a noose for themselves.  They hung us

out to dry, on a limb, on a hook, or a truss.

Now here we swing while they dance down below

and they’ve brought us their broken ideals in tow.

“What shall we do?” we all scream in despair

as we dangle here just like a brace of march hares.

Well, we probably should learn to cooperate,

get ourselves off of this hook post-haste.

But we just throw blame.  You blame me.  I blame you.

We keep fighting.  There’s nothing at all we can do.

So the marchers go, pockets full of change.

“Your objections are bigoted” they will explain.

What’s the answer?  We know we should all just consent

to the plan of our forefathers’ first document.

Constitutional law, as you know does not fail

unless the balances tell you the check’s in the mail.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2012 in Poetry, Politics

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Sedentary Revolutionary

  1. Gilly Gee

    March 11, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Very topical subject, well written and great rhythm 🙂

     
    • roger engle

      May 6, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      Thanks Gilly. I have been absent from my blog for a while. I have been having an extended doldrums attack. I DO appreciate your comment.

       
  2. Angeline M

    March 11, 2012 at 10:38 am

    So good, on so many levels. We have been hung out to dry.
    Really good post!

     
    • roger engle

      March 11, 2012 at 10:52 am

      Thank you Angeline! This is one of the poems I submitted for a cash prize poetry contest this past week. The other two were Pulling Petals and Shrike. I posted this one today so that all three could be read by my readers. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

       
  3. Trinity River

    March 11, 2012 at 9:55 am

    “We gave in to the mob though their cause was unclear.” Why DO we do that??

     
    • roger engle

      March 11, 2012 at 9:59 am

      I’m not really sure Trinity, but clearly we do. =D

       
 
