RSS

To Start Another Blog

08 Aug

Okay, we all know that this blog was supposed to be about my experiences in La Mosquitia. It turned out to be more of a missive to my writing efforts. Well, a lot of my writing has to do with my life in La Mosquitia, so I guess that’s okay. I haven’t been as active as I wanted to be with my posts when I first started this blog, but I’m thinking that’s okay too, because a lot of writing without inspiration usually equals a lot of bad writing. Inspiration comes when it wants to, I’m not one of those people that can create my own inspiration. Therefore, when I’m inspired to write, I write and when I’m not inspired to write I don’t write.
Now I’m faced with another type of blogging project. (Or the opportunity for one, anyway.) It seems the founder of House of Hope would like for people who are interested to be able to look at and keep track of the children at House of hope that they have a particular interest in. He has suggested doing a newsletter and emailing that out; having the various volunteers, and maybe even the Honduran staff members write updates based on their activities or certain children. I think it’s a great idea and I am willing to help with that by doing the writing, so I said just get them to give me their “reports” and I will try to make it into an entertaining and pertinent newsletter type blog.
We’ll see how it turns out, but I’m wondering if any of you pro-bloggers out there have any suggestions on how I might do this. I was specifically interested in possibly giving some or all of them limited access to log in to the blog I create and write up a draft for me to edit or re-write.
I don’t know. I am interested in your input, though. Let me hear it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “To Start Another Blog

  1. Stephanie Raffelock

    August 10, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    A good editor can always benefit from a little control freakishness. And as an editor, it is your job to set not only the tone but a certain continuity and consistency. Other than a cut and paste from an old fashioned email attachment, I’m not sure how you invite bloggers either. Let me know what you find out.

    I share your sentiments about blogging bringing you back to a younger writing self that for many of us gets lost under life’s intervention. Hope you still keep a stash of spiral notebooks for the tweaking of poems and other precious thoughts.

    I will enjoy following your adventure.

     
  2. Stephanie Raffelock

    August 8, 2012 at 4:13 pm

    The great part about writing a blog is that can it can really help you hit your stride if you are posting on a regular basis. That being said, I too have had the experience of starting a blog that I thought was going to be one thing and it turned out to be something else. I liken that to the child who starts out making a picture that she tells you is an elephant, but further into the process announces that what she is really making is a cat! I have currently put my own blog on hold while I write a larger piece about my experiences teaching creative writing in a prison. Not sure if I will come back to it or if it will be a whole new thing.

    I am grateful for blogging as it really did help me hone in on some writing skills and also gave me permission to write pieces that didn’t turn out all that well, but allowed me to explore and experiment with what it was I really wanted to say. Good luck with your new blog, House of Hope–Having read some of your past stuff, I think you will easily become the “editor” that will pull together the stories of the children and the volunteers and that will be a whole other elephant. . .or maybe a cat! Happy writing.

     
    • roger engle

      August 9, 2012 at 10:23 am

      Thanks Stephanie,
      I know it’s something that’s needed and I’m willing to do it. The only thing I’m not really sure about is how to go about making myself the editor of the blog and giving others permission to post drafts but not permission to publish them outright until I have read them over and approved them. Maybe it’s just the control freak in me. I know there are ways to do most of those things, I just have to find pout how to do them.
      Blogging brought me back, in my creative expression, to my younger years. That was a time when I would sit for hours writing in a notebook and tweaking poems and prose until I had each one just the way I wanted it. I went twenty years with barely a glimpse back to that time in my life and I was so overjoyed to open that part of my consciousness again.
      Thanks for your encouragement, Steph. I hope you’ll continue to accompany me on my little regress to innocence.

       
    • roger engle

      August 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      Stephanie,
      Thank you for the insight on editing. I’ve been editing my wife’s writing for years now, because she is terrible with grammar, sentence structure, punctuation, etc…, but good with sharing her feelings. So I’ve always had her write our newsletters and done the editing with help from Microsoft’s proofreading software. I’ll keep your ideas in mind while trying to edit the blog that might come to be. That should help me to make it as good a blog as I possibly can.
      Sadly, I don’t carry those spiral notebooks around anymore. I wish I wrote as much as I used to do. As I said in the OP, I don’t find myself inspired to write as often as I used to. Part of that is that I don’t sit quietly and look for inspiration as much as I used to do. Maybe I can remedy that soon. I need to at least put forth the effort.

       
 
